TV Blogger Q&A: Featuring… Film Obsessive

film obsessive 1

From one TV blogger to another, I sat down with Sam, the writer behind Film Obsessive to talk a bit about her blog, and what TV & Film she’s obsessed with…

– So, what is Film Obsessive all about?

It’s a blog about TV & Film, with reviews and features that focus on obsessions. Some of the TV reviews I’ve written have been on American sitcoms like How I Met Your Mother and New Girl, as well as dramas Revenge and The Vampire Diaries. Therefore you’ll notice my particular obsessions!

Sam, 21, studies Journalism at Sheffield Hallam University

Sam, 21, studies Journalism at Sheffield Hallam University

– That leads me on to my next question… What TV shows are you currently enjoying, and are there any that have disappointed you?

My favourite TV show at the moment would have to be Haven. I love the plotline throughout and it’s always very complex, which can get a bit ridiculous to keep up with but it’s why I enjoy it. The two main characters have a good chemistry and that keeps me watching.

Although I love How I Met Your Mother I found the 9th season to be fairly boring and pointless;

some of it was good, but the events (which I won’t spoil) could have happened quicker instead of dragging it out on an entire season.

– What’s your favourite TV show of all time?

That’s too hard to choose one! It would have to be Friends, One Tree Hill and Gossip Girl. Friends is a classic – it’s funny and the characters’ story lines are relatable.

I’ll think, ‘Oh my god my life is crap, they’re in their late twenties and theirs is crap too!’

Chuck Bass & Blair Waldorf in Gossip Girl

One Tree Hill is a good drama when you’re wanting drama – if that makes sense; and with Gossip Girl, I love the characters, apart from Dan! Chuck and Blair are my favourite; they have great chemistry on screen.

– What about film? Favourite genre? 

I love romcoms.

They’re sweet and light-hearted, and good for when you need a pick-me-up. One of my favourites is 27 Dresses – it’s not that good of a film as it’s quite a predictable plot but I still love watching it. The lead, Katherine Heigl is also one of my favourite actresses.

poster

I also really enjoy thrillers. For when I’m not wanting something light-hearted I like to watch a film that really makes you think, with plenty of drama and suspense. When a Stranger Calls is one of my favourites, but one I enjoyed the most was Butterfly on a Wheel. There are so many twists all the way through it keeps you on the edge of your seat; I would have never predicted the ending the way it happened. If you’re a fan of thrillers I would definitely recommend it.

– What’s your least favourite genre?

Most stuff that’s supernatural. Although, as far as TV shows go, I don’t mind watching programmes like The Vampire Diaries (vampires/witches/werewolves) and fairytales like Once Upon a Time.

Anything with ghosts, however, is a different story. I find paranormal stuff to be more scary as you don’t know if it’s real or not. Ravenswood, the spin off to Pretty Little Liars, focuses on ghosts. There was a very creepy girl that suddenly appeared at the end of the first episode, and it really freaked me out. I also thought Ravenswood‘s storyline was really poor and the characters quite unlikeable; I found it to be nothing like PLL. Caleb (the lead character in Ravenswood and connecting character to Pretty Little Liars) should have stayed!

Films-wise I’m not a fan of slashers; stuff like Prom Night and Sorority Row, where it’s not scary, just stupid.

– Are there any you’ve watched that were so bad, they were good?

Well if you’ve ever watched any of the daytime films on Channel 5, or the Movies 24 channel, you’ll know they show some pretty terrible films! However they’re a bit of a guilty pleasure; while I’m not at uni and I’m back at home I often find myself enjoying some of them; one I really liked was Scents & Sensibility. The plot was pretty awful but it was a feel-good film; to be honest I don’t know why I liked it!

– In my last entertainment feature I discussed DVDs vs watching online (Netflix/LoveFilm). What’s your preference?

I do tend to use Netflix and LoveFilm as long as there is an offer on the subscription, however I find I stream TV shows a lot through websites. I do still tend to buy DVDs though, as I like to own series and films that I enjoy. Usually I will stream something first if I’m not sure about it, then buy the DVD after, apart from the film Stardust; my stepsister recommended it to me and I’ve loved it ever since.

– My next entertainment feature will be on the axing of BBC3 – what are your thoughts on this?

Well no, it doesn’t really bother me in the slightest. I don’t really watch the channel, and if there was something I was interested in I’d watch it on BBC iPlayer.

You can check out Sam’s blog – here.

Leave a comment